The New Need, Same as the Old Need

I watched the Top Gun: Maverick trailer. Hurry up and take my money, Tom Cruise

Andrew Donaldson
4 min readJul 19, 2019
Photo PH2 Michael D.P. Flynn, U.S. Navy via Wikimedia Commons [Public domain]

Fans at San Diego Comic-Con have come to expect surprises. This was a huge one, when Tom Cruise walked on stage and debuted the first trailer for next summer’s Top Gun: Maverick.

I don’t care that its 34 years since the original. I don’t care that Tom Cruise at 58 on premier night will be 5 years older than Tom Skerrit (53 at the time) was in the original movie. I don’t care that the writers are going to have to do retcon Olympics to make plotlines and timelines all work. I don’t care and ignored all the snark on social media.

When I heard that bell…

“Very early on, I found that the only beauty of a DX7 is when you have two (Yamaha) DX7's,” explained Harold Faltermeyer of that sound on one of his signature pieces of music. “Then the TX816 came along, which had eight DX7’s in it. This was a heavenly instrument because you could slightly change parameters on each voice. You could daisy chain them. I had two of those…

--

--

Andrew Donaldson

Writer. Mountaineer diaspora. Veteran. Managing Editor @ordinarytimemag on culture & politics, food writing @yonderandhome, Host @heardtellshow & other media